Valentine’s Day Cookies

Happy Valentine’s Day, fellow bloggers!

The biggest lesson I’m getting from sugar cookie making is that you can’t rush perfection.

Although I see a lot of room for improvement with these cookies, I am proud that they are 100% made from scratch.

20140214-100418.jpg

Important lesson: Royal icing needs to be made using exact measurements. Whenever I wing it, the consistency is off. This is the recipe I used: http://littledelightscakes.com/royal-icing-turtles-icing-recipe/

I need to get more decorating tools in order to do more intricate designs. I used condiment squeeze bottles for my cookies, which work great for filing. But next time I’ll use pastry bags and small frosting tips for details.

20140214-102739.jpg

20140214-102801.jpg

20140214-102815.jpg

I keep telling myself that practice makes perfect!

Leave a Reply

