Tilapia with Lemon-Parmesan Cream Sauce

The selection of fresh seafood at my grocery store is usually pretty limited. So when I saw that a good batch of tilapia had come in, I knew exactly what would be on my dinner table tonight.

20140211-223456.jpg

If you plan to make a meal similar to mine, plan to cook your tilapia last. This fish only needs about 10 minutes before it’s white and flaking (ready to eat). I cooked mine on a pan with a little olive oil.

20140211-223524.jpg

20140211-223551.jpg

I suggest preparing the lemon-parmesan cream sauce second to last.

20140211-223512.jpg

Lemon-Parmesan Cream Sauce

Ingredients

Fresh squeezed lemon juice from  1.5 lemons

1/2 cup half n half

Parmesan cheese (less than a 1/4 cup)

3 Tbsp butter

1 Tbsp Flour

Savory, Salt and Pepper

Directions

1. Make a roux using your butter and flour (melt butter with flour in a sauce pan).

2. Pour in half n half, lemon juice, and seasoning. Whisk until the sauce thickens.

 

20140211-223533.jpg

The first thing I did for this meal was to prepare garlic mashed potatoes. I used baby gold potatoes and fresh garlic, mashed with half n half, salt and pepper. You can start your sauce and fish when the potatoes are nearly finished.

20140211-223542.jpg

Serve with your favorite veggie side (I chose mushrooms) and/or salad.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

