Peanut Butter Pecan Granola Bars

In keeping with my new year’s resolution to eat breakfast more often, I made some granola bars to get me through the entire week and then some!

20140112-215506.jpg

I was inspired by Quad City Moms Blog.

Here’s my version of the recipe:

Peanut Butter Pecan Granola Bars

2/3 cup honey
1/2 cup peanut butter
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tbsp unsalted butter
1/2 tsp sea salt
2 cups instant oatmeal
2 cups rice cereal
1 small package of crushed pecans

1. Mix all dry ingredients in a casserole dish and set aside.
2. Put all wet ingredients in a glass bowl and microwave for about 1 minute. Mix once hot.
3. Pour wet ingredient mixture over dry ingredients and stir together until blended. Flatten down with a spatula.
4. Give the granola at least a few hours to cool before cutting into bars.

20140112-215625.jpg

I tasted some of the granola that stuck to my spatula and boy, was it good! It’s a good feeling to plan ahead. I’m not going to be starving waiting for my lunch break this week!

20140112-215712.jpg

One thought on “Peanut Butter Pecan Granola Bars

Leave a Reply

