Mini Christmas Cupcakes

When I woke up this morning, there were 3 things I wanted to do. Cupcake making won out. Baking usually takes priority even if it shouldn’t.

Today called for triple chocolate cupcakes. I made them from a box, but replaced the oil with melted butter and mixed in a little whipping cream along with the water.

As usual, I was anxious to get to the decorating. In the spirit of the Christmas season, I decided to go for the classic red, green, and white combination. The only problem was that I didn’t have any green or red gels.

Since I did have red and green sprinkles, a decorating idea quickly emerged.

20131208-140401.jpg

I started by making a circle of buttercream around the edge of the mini cupcake.

20131208-140503.jpg

Then I gently rolled it in sprinkles.

20131208-140617.jpg

Which looked like this.

20131208-140654.jpg

Then I topped it with a little spiral of buttercream.

I had a lot of fun experimenting with different piping techniques.

20131208-140950.jpg

Before I could even finish baking, my boyfriend came floating in the kitchen and snatched up a couple of the tinest cupcakes. Glad to have his seal of approval. 🙂

20131208-141354.jpg

20131208-141418.jpg

Leave a Reply

