Carousel Restaurant – St. Nicholas Day

I don’t plan to blog much about my experiences dining out, but this is a special occasion. Today is St. Nicholas Day or for me and my sisters, it’s Shoe Day. 🙂 It’s tradition in my family to receive small gifts, chocolate, and coins in our shoes on St. Nicholas Day. It’s a Northern European holiday and is where the stocking concept and Santa Claus originate from. Why we celebrate it? Not sure. But I want to keep the tradition alive in my household.

So I bought my boyfriend a few small gifts and chocolate poker chips and left them in his shoes before leaving for work. 🙂 In return, my boyfriend took me out to Carousel. When we’re craving Turkish style cuisine, Carousel is the closest you can get.

20131206-230023.jpg

We order a lot of mezzes (small plates) so we can enjoy lots of different tastes. There’s some things I can’t quite replicate in the kitchen to my satisfaction. Some things are better left to the professionals.

20131206-230157.jpg

Feta cheese. How did I go most of my life before tasting this glory?

20131206-230308.jpg

Hummus. Nothing better.

20131206-230422.jpg

Turkish name is börek. Carousel called it fatayer. It’s basically fried cheese. Heaven!

20131206-230543.jpg

Crispy manti. I wrote about manti in a previous post. It is better than any ravioli you’ve ever had. I wish I could rewind and eat it all over again.

20131206-230737.jpg

Sucuk (soujuk) Flambe. Delicious seasoned beef sausage.

20131206-230937.jpg

The restaurant was all decked out for Christmas. So pretty!

It was a great, great night. We had to drive pretty far just for dinner, but it was so worth it! This place is a must try if you live in the area.

Leave a Reply

