Creamy Mushroom Chicken

My boyfriend’s mom is an amazing cook. From what I hear, her mom was an amazing cook as well. While I can’t say I am living up to that legacy, I am sure trying.

Mushroom chicken is the first meal my boyfriend’s mom ever cooked for me and it’s my favorite to this day. I have her Turkish hand written recipe somewhere, but I’ve been making this dish for a few years now. It’s written in my brain!

20131203-211545.jpg

Mushroom Chicken for 2

Ingredients
One chicken breast
5-6 chopped mushrooms
A handful of chopped onion
A squirt or two of mustard
Half and half (enough to bathe the chicken)
Salt and pepper to taste

Mushroom chicken is pretty easy to make. First saute chopped onions and mushrooms in olive oil, then add cubes of chicken breast to the same pan and continue to cook on medium heat. Once the chicken is thoroughly white, pour in half and half and a small amount of mustard. That’s right plain old mustard. Mix and let simmer for 5-10 minutes.

20131203-212249.jpg

Mushroom chicken is served on a bed of rice. Long grain Jasmine rice soaks up the sauce best, but brown rice will work too.

So delicious!

2 thoughts on “Creamy Mushroom Chicken

Leave a Reply

